An Unexpected Journey


So you may have noticed it’s been a while since my last proper post. So here’s another attempt at me reviewing a film.
Spoilers ahoy so be ye warned.

It was for me strangley emotional watching this film. Probably because about ten years before I remember sitting in the cinema watching Return of the King and so in a way it was a bit of a homecoming.
(And I may have felt a bit emotional when the first notes of The Hobbiton music started playing)

I remember falling in love with Middle Earth and I had missed it for quite a while. It also gave me the kick for wanting to get involved in fantasy art.


I watched this film in 3D, I have mixed feelings about 3D as I have seen quite a few films where it just feels like it’s been pasted on as a gimmic. However, this film it seemed to work, I felt very immersed from the start and the high frame rate technique really did bring the film to life. The Shire in this film does seem a lot brighter than the original films but that I believe is supposed to add to the feeling of it being an idylic place.

Now, as we all know LOTR was praised for it’s scenery and this film doesn’t do any less. The scenery is breathtaking as are the sets and everything just feels so alive and you do really feel you are in fact following the company on their adventure.

It’s been a while since I have read ‘The Hobbit’ so I can’t vouch for what has been changed but a lot of little moments I do remember from the book were there. A lot of content in the film has been taken from other Tolkien works such as the additon of the brilliant Ratagast the Brown.

The start of the film features a ‘prologue’ of sorts of Bilbo giving a bit of backstory for the Dwarves as he’s working on writing his book. It then goes to the ‘present day’ as it were which is in fact set during Fellowship of the Ring just before the scene opens of Frodo reading a book on a sunny day.

There are a fair few action scenes as well as quiet scenes and it doesn’t go speeding off at such a pace you loose yourself and to me it felt as if you were reading the book.

I heard a lot of people claimed it was ‘slow’ but it wasn’t for me. I felt it did go at a fairly good pace. But my brother did remark that during the goblin cave scene when they were doing a very Indiana Jonesesque escape that it did feel a bit like it was a motion simulator ride.
Characters.
Well we already know some of the characters in this film such as Bilbo, Gollum, Gandalf, Elrond and Galadriel, Martin Freeman does a great job as a young Bilbo. The Dwarves are quickly likeable especially the likes of Killi.

Tone, this film does overall have a much lighter tone than the other films. But this could be due to the fact that The Hobbit is overall a much lighter story as it aimed at children. There’s less blood than within the trilogy however there is a decaption scene and some generally menacing moments so do keep that in mind if you want to watch this with young children. But it is also a lighthearted, cheerful and overall fun movie.

It’s worth a watch, even if all you want to do is stare are the gorgeous set work (and equally gorgeous dwarves)

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Clix
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 12:47:11

    Yum, Richard Armitage! ^.^

    Reply

  2. CMrok93
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 22:57:01

    Fine review. I may still have fleeting doubt for the trilogy, but at the same time, I can’t wait to see where it will go from here. Middle Earth is the place to be for 2012.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

